• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

During the heart of summer, mid July-mid August, by reading past posts from last year, it seems that most anglers on this forum use plain lindys with a crawler or leech..if someone could explain why this technique is more productive(usually) than jigging, slip bobbering, casting or trolling cranks during this time of year I would be appreciative..since I'm a novice walleye fisherman!!

Haven't fished Vermillion for awhile, but on Elephant Lake I find trolling crawlers with plain Lindy rigs most productive, not to say you can't catch eyes fishing other ways. Some prefer fishing with slip bobbers (both crawlers and leeches. We have caught some nice eyes at dusk and after nightfall casting crank baits.

First, it seems you gotta pick an end. Techniques seem to vary in effectiveness from end to end. And personally I have never been able to catch a walleye on a crawler in the west since perch and gills seem to get there first. But that is probably just me not fishing in right place.

By that time of the year the mayflies are gone and the only easy and abundant food source is small minnows. Leeches and crawlers are much larger and therefore more attractive to walleyes. Trolling with lindys covers more ground than any other method, so it is most productive.Once located the method that somtimes outfishes lindys is a slip bobber,but personally I never quit the lindy rig until fall,when jigging resumes. That's my theory,hope it helps you. If Cliff responds,then you will really know! Mike

Fishmarket,

Mike has part of the reason right! Another part is that in July and August The walleyes have a huge abundance of food available, on the East End that food supply is mainly mayfly nymphs and young-of-the-year perch fry. Both are easy prey and the walleyes really key on them.