• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Auger Binding

CadCruzer

Question

I just purchased a Brand new Strikemaster 2hp. 8" lazer mag. I am having a terrible time going through the last few inches of ice, at the bottom of the hole. The auger will lock up and get stuck in the hole. It got so bad that I thought I was going to have to disconect the powerhead from the auger and leave it stuck in the ice. This happend on just about every hole that I drilled. I have used power augers for about 20 yrs, and have NEVER had this much problems drilling.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

19 answers to this question

I am by no means an expert....but I have noticed that with Strikemaster augers a person does not need to push down to get it to cut. If you put pressure on it, the auger/blades tend to get stuck. I borrowed mine to a friend a few weeks ago and noticed that he treated it like a Jiffy and was putting weight on it as it cut and it really started to bind up and get stuck. Its best to just let the weight fo the auger do the work. If you already knew this...then I would just give Strikemaster and call and see what they have to say. Good luck

CLiffy

Ditto on cliffy's reply. Sometimes you will actually have to put a slight lift as you near the bottom of the hole

I'll have to agree with Cliffy, I believe I was prob the one who was putting my weight into it. I noticed it cut like warm butter when he corrected me. Very smooth and fast... the Perch

I had the same problem took it to Strikemaster in Big lake they adjusted the pitch works like a charm now and the best part it was free!