• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

What's the best way to fry fish ????

For years i've been catching, cleaning, and frying fish in a electric pan. Is there a better way. Fry magic, shore lunch, or a home made mix. I never see anybody talk about what to do after you come off the lake.

What kind of fish you cooking?

I sorta cook all my fish species differently but thats just me.

For crappies & gills... I go with a cast iron frying pan, tad more than a half block of Lard melted for cooking oil, then I bread my panfish fillets with pancake batter (either Bisquick or Hungry Jack). Toss them in the pan on Hi, couple minutes on each side or until golden brown and you are good to go! I remove the fillets and set them on a paper towel for a couple minutes to drain the grease, then salt & pepper to taste and eat!

I've been eating panfish this way for 20 years and it is still probably my favorite way to cook and eat fish.

i usually only cook crappies bluegills and walleyes and i cook them all the same way. i first start out with some crackers and crush them. they have to be crackers that will crush into a powder like saltines, then mix in a LOT of lemon pepper into the cracker crumbs. roll fillets in an egg wash then roll in the cracker mix then place in a pan of hot oil, i like either canola oil or olive oil.

a lot of people who don't like fish actually like it prepared like this

Man olive oil could get spendy! I use the canola or sunflower oil. I really like Shore Lunch Cajon mixed 1/2 with straight white flower. I put the fish in a bowl with just enough milk to get it wet then into the bag. Shake rattle and roll . \:\) I lay it on a plate while the oil is hot enough to ignite a match. In goes the fish. Brown each side and mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!