• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Best times

LindyRig

Ok, so I am new to this whole river fishing thing. Been ice fishing for a long time but never had the time (or set of balls) to really hit the river in the winter. This is my first real year that I want to fish the river hard. I guess my question is when is the best time to be out there for them monster paper lips that everyone talks about. I know they are there, just need a little help getting em' up the hole. Any suggestions would help! Thanks and good luck out there! laugh.gif

Lindy, I've been told dusk/dawn is the best, have yet to find a good enough winter bite to form an opinion of my own frown.gif

LB

Well I have tried (wish I could say frequently) the morning bite. Was the first one on the ice, but didn't produce like I had hoped. I saw most people showing up around 8 am, which I thought was strange. But this is the river which like I said, I don't have much experience with. So I figured I would ask the experts on here grin.gifgrin.gif

Well, I've been fishing it for a long time, as I live close. For years it has always been a dawn/ dusk bite. However, the 2 times I have been this year, they have bit up until 4, then shut off.............wierd.

I just moved within 5 minutes of the river, which I think is why I want to fish it so hard now. Its down the road and very tempting just to think about pulling slabs out this winter. I been fishing the 35 FOW, fishing 2 lines, one near bottom, other around 19 FOW. I don't have up-to-date gear like most, but hay it works!