• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Taking 5 yr old out and need some help

crappieseeker

I am taking my son (5 yr old) out on Sunday and/or Monday. I have never been on any of the Metro Lakes so I am looking for some help. I am actually new to ice fishing. I have only been out a couple of time on URL. Any help that you could give me to help him catch some fish would be great.

We will be in Eden Prairie and I am planing on fishing possibly on Sunday and for sure on Monday. I am willing to drive a bit to catch fish. Also, we would be walking out to any spots that we will fish.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Tim

grays bay on tonka is a short walk from the area you park. you should be able to catch bluegills with waxies and small ice spoons. throw out a tip up or two for a snake. there are lots of small northerns that might be biting.

if you are willing to drive a while there is a great lake just for sunnies in the anoka area. last year i went out there a couple of times and i caught 101 sunnies in like 6 hours..and a bad day is like 40 of 'em... its a small lake, most of it is a swamp but there is a 15 ft hole about 100 yds straight out from the landing, there is usually 3 or 4 houses out there. A lot of stunted fish, but a few with some decent size.if you just want to catch some fish with the kid this is a great lake. its just round lake heres the dnr lake finder link http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/lakefind/results.html

yes i know that the dnr doesnt have a fish report, but there are lots of sunnies and ive been told that there are a few crappies..good luck