• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Minnesota River by Redwood Falls

I am new to ice fishing the river i do lots of open water fishing and have lived in the area all my life but i just dont have any luck with ice fishing the river. I am looking for any helpfull tips or locations in the area to get started with this year

i have been reading the posts left for yours to but i am wondering if the fish hold closer to spring spots or more twards fall fishing spots

I cant help ya in your area but by granitefalls,I may,I dont icefish the river but a older guy I know does or did,he is in his late 80s.right in GF on turns minnow plain,Below minn.Falls most all outside turns are deep some to 20-30 ft again plain minnow.His favorite spot was out from GraniteFalls creamery (where ever it is)2 large rocks above water level between them its 30ft.If ya try these places let me know if my info was truthful? I do believe the fellow. cool.gif

• 1 month later...

Well i cant beleive its the 15th of february and im gona hit the river for the first time this year. Fishing lakes and a snowmobile trip have kept me busy. A freind and i are gona search and try some spots between franklin and morton tomorow. Gona use snowmobiles and pull my portable. It should be interesting. Ill give a report when i get back

How was that? Im assuming the bite doesnt start till dusk as usual? Gona really give er [PoorWordUsage] these last few weeks. With the good ice and snowmobiles were gona be really versitle, so if today dont work out gona try a different spot tommorw.

I didnt get much before about 4:30 pm. It was fun though, I caught all the fish and a buddy who was ten yards away not even a bite.

good time to try it though with the ice and nice weather. i was in around a break of 13ft of water. one side of me was 20 and the other 7 ft.

its fun though