• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Where to get on the lake

JonnyD

I plan on fishing the SW side of the lake this weekend, and it is my first time ice fishing the lake. I moved up here last year, and have only been in my boat so far on the big pond.

A have a few questions. What is the closes bait shop in the SW area to get bait at? And where does a guy walk out at? With all this snow, I'm assuming it's going to be quite a pull through all the snow. Would any one be willing to give me a few ideas on general areas to fish, that won't include a 1 1/2 mile walk thorugh 8 inches of snow? I'm trying to tarket some perch.

Any help for a new guy would really help...Thanks

jonnyd,

stop at lundeen's bait on the corner of 169 and 27, bill will point you in the right direction. cove bay is a good early ice area, but, it is a little walk from the public access to get to the area that is most fished. if you do fish cove bay, be carefull around the point, there is bad ice/open water all winter long. with the low water levels this year, it will be worse than years past. i haven't seen anybody fishing on the main lake yet. i may get out and check the ice this afternoon and see if i can reach some of the close in rock spots. it is -12 this morning, i think that it is making ice.

aceinthehole,

can you post a picture of that 47 inch northern??? that has to be one of the top 5 northerns caught in the state this year, as far as lenght goes.......tom fellegy

Johnny D, Myself and a couple of FMr's are coming up to Isle on Saturday. This is my first trip up for ice as well. I'll have a white Durango and a green Otter II, one of the guys is bringing his one man as well. Look us up, maybe we can learn together. If you want, give me an email and I'll get you my cell so we can get together.