• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Any electricians out there that can help a kid out?

I was wondering if any electricians out there could give me some help. I have been working construction for about 2 years now doing various different trades. But what i really would like to be is an electrician. I have talked to a couple of the electricians that have worked on the same houses as i have but they had almost exact opposite oppinions on the whole thing. What i was wondering is do you think that it is better to go to school for 2 years or to have on the job training? One said its better to go to school the other said he prefers on the job training. What do you think? Is school the better route? If so do you think that it makes a difference whether you go to a community college or a more expensive college like say dunwoody? Thanks for any replies. E-mail x38_WiLD_38x

You might try posting this in equipment/expert information.

I understand your plight. My buddy's dad is back to school after like 20 years in the business. He wasn't union so it was pretty tough for him to find work. I know he got his experience by OJT.

I can't help you but others might...

wild,