• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

What size buck do you shoot?

DRH1175

I have been bowhunting and rifle hunting hard for many years. After deciding I wanted to leave some of those smaller bucks go the last 4 years I have been buck less. I have passed on several 4 to 6 pointers each year opting for does instead. Yet they never really seem to get any bigger. Either the neighbors are shooting all these deer that I see or they just keep getting smarter and turn Nocturnal. What do others do?

i only shoot a buck if he's gonna be going on my wall...otherwise i'd rather just let him live and take does for meat and to balance the herd.

if u pass on all those bucks and never see a big one, 1 of 2 things is wrong. either there is no big bucks where you are hunting or your skills are only crafty enough for the does and little bucks.

hunting mature whitetail bucks is a whole new level of the game. everything has to be perfect to get one...sure anyone can get lucky and get a big buck but to do it consistantly u have to do everything right.

I've come to let all the smaller bucks pass now. Last year I saw 8 different bucks that were mostly 8 ptrs in the first two weeks of season but none of them were very big. I ended up taking one much nicer, actually the pic in my avatar.

If you let all those small bucks go they will eventually end up getting large unless you have a fair amount of hunting pressure in the area where they shoot any size buck.

How big of a tract of land do you have control of? Are you the only one that hunts it? It's tough to implement QDM if you don't have a decent tract of land and/or the neighbors are hammering everything.