• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

How many big walleyes are there?!?

Stick in Mud

I was out this afternoon and caught a 21'' walleye a little down from the Sartell dam. I've been fishing this area for about fifteen years, and I bet I've caught less than twenty fish over 20''. And I've only got one piggie, a 29'', but that was in the spring, when I've caught most of my "big" ones.

I must admit that I don't spend a lot of time working to catch walleyes; I usually accidentally run into them while fishing for bass. But I have targeted them numerous times, and I bet 98% of the fish are about 14'', maybe 15''.

Are any of you out there catching big walleyes? (I don't have any interest in finding out where you catch them if you do.) I am just curious because today's "monster" made me wonder if I'm just that bad of a walleye fisherman.

Carl

Between St. Cloud and Anoka, a 30 plus incher is not out of the question! I have seen some mounted that have caught in this area.

I would say all in all 15-18" on average! Fish them hard for a week or two then you will start seeing larger ones come around!

Shackback,

You are right--there are some big ones around. I saw a guy catch one carp fishing in the spring from the bridge over the Watab River in Sartell. One of the funniest things I've seen is watching that giant fish head-shake in the river while that guy waddled his way down the rocks and through the trees so he could actually land it. Amazingly, he got it in. Turned out it was almost 31''.

Carl

I've seen them to 28.5 come out of the St. Cloud area.

The last full moon I know someone who caught 6 of them over 24" during the late night on cranks. I don't fish walleyes on the river much myself as I usually stick to the bass.