• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Fly Line Color

Duncan7709

This is my first year fly fishing and I bought a cheap rod and reel with line on it. I am looking at upgrading my outfit and was wondering does fly line color matter?

depending on the situation. fly line color tends to be more critical in clear water situations, like streams during low flow conditions, or during periods with little surface runoff. Still water like lakes or reservoirs are another situation where line color can be critical. The one thing is, most fly line manufacturers that market specialty lines, often pick drab colors for their lines used in these conditions, e.g. SA makes a clear fly line for their still water line, olive drab for their mastery trout lines, etc.

that being said, the quality of the line far outweighs its color. A high end $60-70 line will hands down outperform a $30 line. The lone exceptions to that may be the SA Lefty Kreh line or the mastery headstart line, which is basically the mastery bass bug taper.

There seems to be two schools of thought on this. On the one have there are those that say fly line color is extremely important, and then there are those that say any fly line will cast a shadow no matter what color it is and that is what the fish see and react to. I fall under the latter. All my fly lines are brightly colored, mostly because as I age, I can’t see those drab colors anymore while casting. I personally haven’t noticed the color being a problem. My personal believe is that presentation is everything and if you’re casting within range of a fishes field of vision their going to see it, no matter what color it is.

Just my thoughts

Mike