• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Anyone else think Grouse are WAY DOWN?

BentBarrels

I have been hunting for 10+ years east of Bemidji. And this is without question the WORST year for grouse hunting i have experienced.

We have put a lot of hours in the woods this year and have only shot 10 grouse.

In most years we would have 2 maybe 3 x's as many. We just are not seeing or flushing the amount of birds that we have over the last 10 years.

The other hunters i have spoken to in the field are reporting the same news.

Would like to hear how other hunters would compare what they have seen this year vs previous years.

I know the DNR stated the drumming counts were up...so my conclustion would be that we had a TERRIBLE hatch.

Your thoughts?

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• uplander

• Shack

• tacklejunkie

• Surface Tension

We've had better luck this year around Park Rapids than the last 6 or so. Got a limit without a dog in about 3 hrs of walking. I also know of people in McGregor area who are reporting limits of grouse.

Hmmm, I have been out the last three weekends, and have seen more birds by far. They certainly haven't been everywhere, but when I've found them they've come in bunches, big bunches. The majority have been young birds.

Grouse fluctuations and the ten year cycle although is proven, specific areas can have their own fluctuations usually due to weather etc. Several years ago up at LOW the population was supposed to be way up state-wide. Unfortunately we had major flooding in the areas we hunted and there was hardly a bird to be found and these areas always produced birds regardless of cycle. We went an hour south and birds were everywhere. You may be right; the area you hunt had a bad hatch for one reason or another.