• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Lake Minnewashta

I have been fishing this lake for 5 years and only caught 2 pike over 30" and lots of mid 20's. Does this lake have many big ones in it or are they all smaller?

I was out on 8/31 and didn't find much of a bite on anything. Small panfish but that don't count. Caught one nice bluegill while trolling for northerns. Did find any northerns or even spot any. The most fish I found are in the little minnewashta by the access.

I have fished the lake for many years. It is primarily a large mouth factory with pigs in the 22" or 23" range with in your reach on any given day. Docks. pads, and sunken islands will serve you well on the Largemouth. When I say pads I mean deep in the weeds with frogs or other weedless topwaters and thick line to pull this pigs out. Early early morning is best on this lake for the bass, in my opionion.

I find that spring and fall is best for the crappie, sunfish, and pike. However summer will produce you just need to fish deep. The bigger pike will be in the 17-24 depths and if you can find sunked struture of deep area right by weed edge you will have success. I have found artificials work okay but a small sucker or large fathead on a jig in the deep is my best choice.

The big sunfish and crappie will be on the same deep area around sunken structure. The small fish are now around the weed edges. You have to work to get them.

Fall is just around the corner and the bulls and bigger crappie will start to move shallow as the water temps fall.

Concerning size I have got a few pike in the 10lb class. Many in the 5-7lb range and gazzillion in the 1-3lb class. When the bite is on it can be a blast for largemouth and pike.