• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Federal Shells

I have a 870 Remington Super Magnum 3-1/2" chamber that I've been using for waterfowl hunting for 3 years. Just wondering if anyone else has had the same problem that I've had using 3" federal steel shells. I used to be a big fan of Federal since they're local and they spend a lot for good causes, but I cannot use their 3" or 3-1/2" in my gun cause they jam up. Even after a thourough cleaning ir still happens. I've even talked to a well known gun-smith and even he says he's had customers camplaining about them. Winchester or Remmington Shells are no problem. I've talked to the Federal People at the Gamefairs and they act like they've never heard about it.

Has anyone else had this problem?

i have a rem 870express also but it only takes 2 3/4,or 3" shells, i have had the same excact problem as you but only with the winchester xpert shells,they always jam and i have to pump twice to get that second n third shell in the chamber, remingtons,kents, feds, estaits all go threw smooth, just the winchesters have trouble??? who knows man!!

I've been shooting an old Winchester 120 for the last couple years and i've never had any problems with federal on winchester loads, i hunt with 2 guys who use 870's as well and they don't seem to have problems either.

how is it that they are jamming up? are the hulls expanding outward sticking in the chamber, or is the extractor not catching the brass? im just curious.

Get a drill, a 10" long 1/4" dowell, and some scotch-brite.

Attatch the scotch-brite to the dowell with tape and wrap just enough so it is the same diameter as the chamber of the barrel where the shell slides in. Run the drill slowly into the chamber running the scotch-brite just about 3-4" deep.