• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Catin Around Pictures

I’ve spend several hours over the past two weeks on various bodies of water in and around Rochester (and some not so close). Over the past 2 weeks we’ve put several dozen channel cats in the boat and on shore and here are a few of the highlights.

7-8lbs

andya_cat1.jpg

6lbs

freddie_cat1.jpg

6-7lbs

andy_cat.jpg

7lbs

ty_cat1.jpg

8lbs

andya_cat1.jpg

9lbs 1oz

ty_cat2.jpg

I don’t remember the exact weight for all the fish above so I put a range. All were 25” or better.

I had a guy email me and ask why I hadn't been out fishing much.. We'll I've been putting some grueling hours in on these channels (and flatheads), but really don’t have a ton to report about them except what the pictures above show. We’ve had some success, but I’m still learning on every trip. Each and every time is different; for example, we missed over catfish 20 runs this morning and caught 2 softshell (leatherback) turtles in a body of water I never knew they existed.

In addition I’ve put in several hours bullhead fishing with some decent results. Also caught a few suckers. Both bullheads and suckers were used for catfish bait. I’ve learned if you want to catch hundreds of gills, simply try for bullheads.

Panfishing has taken a back seat in the heat of the summer, but I still managed to get out at least twice in the past two weeks. The crappies and bluegills have been very cooperative for the most part on Lake Zumbro. The fish have been suspended over deeper water. Those who subscribe to the UPLR email got a decent report from my findings.

Anyways, I’ll try to be a little more current with what I’ve been chansing and how I’ve been doing it. Stay tuned and sorry for the tardy reports and the shortcomings in details.