• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

So I'm curious, I went to French Lake for the first time this past sunday am. Casting for a hour and then noticed what looked to be a log drifting towards us? When it got about 20 yards, it kinda porposed and I could see at least 9 " of girth. Wasn't until I saw some slight side to side action that I realized it was a fish. Casted a few times in front but to no avail as it eventually dove down. I am new to muskie fishing but I assumed this was a muskie as it looked to be huge. Is this common behavior or what? I did see another doing the same although smaller I did get a follow from that one.

I have seen this out on French and other lakes. It's hard to say what they a doing for sure but it's a sight to see. Me and a buddy thought that it was a beaver or muskrat until the sun hit its cheek and started to shine. It's almost like they are checking to see if anyone is fishing around them, wierd. ooo.gif

Thats the elusive French Lake muskie. Happens to me at least twice a year out there while walleye or pan fishing. Nothing like a 50 inch fish staring you down.

There are some monsters in that lake.