Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

  • RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE

    You know what we all love...

    When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

Sign in to follow this  
CNY Tim

You make the call?

Recommended Posts

CNY Tim

Here's the situation men's slowpitch. Bottom 7th tied score, runner on 1st and 3rd and two outs. Infield and out field playing in to cut-off winning run.

Batter hits a ground ball ball between 1st and 2nd base. The batted ball hits runner in the leg 1/3 of the way to 2nd base.

You make the call...

Remember the infield is playing in....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
mnwild

I would think the runner that got hit going from 1st to 2nd is out??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
HossFisher

I also believe the runner going from first or second is out. I dont see how having the infield in would change anything in this situation. The only thing that might change the the call would be if the runner from third scored before the ball hit the runner going to second. I am not sure what would happen in that situation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
CNY Tim

I will leave this open until 3 p.m. est and provide a response then. Keep em coming boys...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
IFallsRon

If the runner on third reaches home before the ball hits the other runner, game over.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
beer batter

If the runner from 1st is only 1/3 of the way to 2nd when he's hit by the ball, chances are the runner from 3rd has not yet touched home base.

Don't see where it matters that the infield is in. 3rd out, change 'em up.

**edit** Unless you call interference on the 2nd basemen if he was playing in basepath and obstructing the path of the runner to where he had to slow down and get hit by the ball. Some pretty upset players if that call was made though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
fishyguy

Unless some info is missing answer is one of two things....

Runner out, dead ball, game over

or

misplay or error by first baseman the ball is live. Run scores if all other runners end up on base safely.

If second option is correct my question would be, why in the heck would the infield be in preventing a run when they should be back prevent a ground ball from getting through with two outs on the board?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
greebs

I'm going to call bad coaching on having the outfield and infield playing in with two outs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
genegodawa

If the batted ball has passed the infielder and THEN hits the runner, the runner is NOT out.

Very obscure rule which I remember using when my son was in minors about 10 yrs ago. You know how the younguns play in and even in front of the baseline sometimes, well my son was on 2nd and the ball was past the SS when it hit him. Surprisingly the ump knew the right call - very few would - the other coach wanted an out and he was hot at the ump, but he was wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
PierBridge

Quote:

If the batted ball has passed the infielder and THEN hits the runner, the runner is NOT out."


Rats thought I had it until the end nice one Geno,

Also its a LIVE ball.

This includes umpires but it excludes pitchers of course.

The coach of the defensive "losing" team should be fired there wouldn't be any reason to have the infeild or outfield in with 2 outs.... grin.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
metrojoe

Could any of the infielders made a play on the ball?

I believe as long as it's not ruled interference the runner should be safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
PierBridge

Quote:

Could any of the infielders made a play on the ball?


If another player not the one the ball passed by first could have made a play then its up to the umpire if he feels the player could have made the out then he's out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
metrojoe

My son was called out on a play like this in one of his baseball games last year and the coach seemed to think he should have been safe. It had something to do with the position of the infielders and they're ability to make a play on the ball. I really didn't understand it, but it didn't matter much, he was still out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
CNY Tim

Rule 8, Section 8 D

When a runner is hit with a fair, untouched batted ball that has passed an infielder, excluding the pitcher, and, in the judgement of the umpire, no other fielder had a chance to make an out. The runner is not out.

The base umpire ruled that there was no way that the 2nd basemen was going to make the out as he pealed back toward the second base bag as the first basemen ran and dove to his right to try to knock the ball down. Ball is live run scored from 3rd game over...

The umpire was right and the team that lost went nuts on him. I expect some apologies from these guys when I see em next week. Great call but a tough way for a team to lose...

Thank you for your responses...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
genegodawa

Those obscure rules are the fun ones to discuss.

Wanna pose questions about the rules for hitting a ball pitched into the dirt or getting hit by a pitched ball that hits the dirt first?

Me? I'm always flabergasted by those liners that curve just inside 3rd and land to the foul side of the line...must be something diff about it being a liner instead of a bouncer that goes over the bag but lands in foul territory?????

And I gotta admit....balk rules really baffle me to this day.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
PierBridge

Quote:

And I gotta admit....balk rules really baffle me to this day.


Me too......but it baffles me how many peope don't understand the foul ball rules what is so hard to understand?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Mudcutter

Turnbow for the Brewers balks on every pitch according to the rule book. Watch him shrug his shoulders after he sets. The Balk is a dying call.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  



  • Your Responses - Share & Have Fun :)

    • Rick
      @YBOutdoors have you tried ice fishing it yet?
    • Hoey
      I really do not do anything different.  I use red UV glow rattle jigging spoons with a minnow head under the Vex.  I use a large fathead on a lightweight, large hook jig under the bobber.  
    • Hoey
      At this time of the year they are full of eggs and forage.  Not surprised.
    • Pat McGraw
      Anyone ice fishing the pike river flowage this year? Main lake or narrows upstream of Hwys 1 or 77? I may go this weekend. Thx
    • Wellesy
      It was pretty "healthy" fish I would say...quite a gut on it.  I'll try and post a pic later.
    • AlwaysFishing23
      So I purchased a 23 inch SUL tickle stick this years model with the white handle ( actually I wanted a 27 inch UL and got home and the rod was a SUL but the box said 27 I’m 200 miles from the store I got it from so can’t juse return it). I got it At the beginning of this season and the very first trip out with it the paint started peeling off the tip. I contacted 13 and they said I had to pay to get a new one because it was my fault and that never happens. That rod has never been abused. I’ve still been using the rod and now about half the paint has come off. I’ve tried sharpie, highlighter. Nothing works the blank of the rod is black so hard for things to show. Has anyone had this issue?
    • KidMoe
      I use a fish oil that comes in a pump bottle from Menards or FF. This stuff makes a huge difference for my dog. It calls for one tablespoon or 1 pump per 10 lbs so my pup gets 7 or 8 pumps on his kibble.  i also try to run the poor mans humidifier (boiling pot on the stove) on the really cold days. It has been extra cold and dry so far this year though. 
    • Surface Tension
       Flooded,  inlet valve is not seating from being warn,  debris in the valve, or improper metering lever height. The later is what I would suspect since you've already had the carb apart.  The meter lever is the link from metering gasket to the inlet valve. This controls the flow of fuel.  That adjustment is normally level with the floor of the carb body.   An incorrect setting will allow fuel to freely flow into the carb with engine off. Or it can starve for fuel not allowing enough fuel into the carb.
    • fish_time
      He guys, just wanted to share a video of my kids fishing for crappie and sunfish. Be awesome outdoors!  
    • fish_time
      Hey guys. I wanted to share my pictures with you, but they are in video. I hope you enjoy sin and be awesome outdoors!   
  • Share & Have Fun