• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

It's a good thing there is Walmart or I would starve to death....

I am not having any luck fishing on lake Pepin. I have been up there 4 separate times and the only thing I have done is hooked one crappie (it got away). I am new to lake fishing in MN. I have caught a lot of lake trout in Utah, but it is a different kind of fishing there.

Let me discribe how I have been fishing. Maybe someone can see some holes in my game and give me a few tips....

1. Dock at the public dock near camp Hoksila.(not sure on the spelling)

2. Motor my boat out until I see a few fish on the finder. They are usually single fish about 8' deep in 15' of water.

3. I drop my line with either a minnow or a leach on a floating jig which floats about 2 foot off the bottom.

4. Sit there for a while and inevitalby the fish is disappears from my finder.

I just bought a shad rap and a lindy rig. I am thinking about trying that. I just haven't seen that many fish on my fish finder. Am I in the wrong location? Is there a better place to dock? Maybe Redwing?

I went to Pepin for the first time yesterday and my North Dakota walleye methods worked great, launched at Lake City and used jigs with twister tails and minnows, 18-20 feet of water. I trolled real slow and bounced the jigs off the bottom. We got about 15-20 walleyes and saugers.