• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Dead eyes

wingnut38

This weekend I saw six different walleyes all over 20" floating. This is my first year on Mille Lacs. Is this normal? Do a lot of the realesed fish die like that?

I also saw 2 yesterday, one had to have been in the 27-29" range, the other was over 20" also. This is a very good question.

Unfortunatly this is very common as summer wears on, so much so that the DNR includes the "mortality" rate in it's alloted poundage quota. Try to land your fish as quick as possible,keep it in the water if possible,and NEVER dig a deep hook out-cut the line.

Unfortunately there are more and more of the fish at this time of the year that don't make a second trip, as the water warms people have to remember to fight the fish quick, have the camera ready and snap a picture or return the fish quick, they can't handle being caught, dropped three times on the bottom of the boat, and waiting while 6 pictures are taken- get rid of them quick!

last year at this time there was a lot more visible dead kill. A little info on your landing nets, I see there are a few using rubber nets which work great. Then there are the people with the old school nets which are basically gill nets. Your net gets caught behing the gills tears them up and you think you have a good release when your net just killed them. Rubber nets please. If not rubber use tight webbed nets.

Good luck

Don't handle the fish if you don't plan on eating it. Release it in the water, don't need to take it out of the water and take a bunch of pic's. We were fishing and the boat next to us would use a landing net on every fish, take them out of the water, drop them while taken too many pic's and release them. You sure don't need to take a pic of every fish you catch like they did.